Novell is now a part of Micro Focus

Deleting and Restoring Group Objects

Articles and Tips: tip

Paul Thompson
Novell, Inc.

01 Jan 2001


If you delete an NDS Group object and then restore it from a backup, the group's members will still be members of that group, but they will no longer be associated with the group. This is because, unless you do a complete restore of NDS (which Novell recommends only in a single-server environment), the objects are not actually restored, but are recreated. This means the objects have new object IDs and, thus, all object dependencies are broken.

You can get a file called GRPFIX.EXE from Novell Support to help you associate the users with the new group object ID. The Novell Support Web site is at http://support.novell.com.

* Originally published in Novell AppNotes


Disclaimer

The origin of this information may be internal or external to Novell. While Novell makes all reasonable efforts to verify this information, Novell does not make explicit or implied claims to its validity.

© Micro Focus